Academic Advising

Section Menu
  • You are on...
    Main Page for Academic Advisement

APPLY NOW

Success starts here!

START NOW

Make College Affordable

Learn More
GCC

Make A Smooth Transition to GCC

TRANSFER INFO

Academic Advising


Academic Advising at GCC is a process that assists students in clarifying their life and career goals as they develop their educational plans. Advising goes beyond requirements and registration. It is an educational and career plan developed between the student and the advisor. Since academic advising is also a decision-making process, ongoing communication is the responsibility of both the student and their advisor.
 

Guam Community College partners with its students to succeed. This is reflected in the following activities:
 

  • Assisting students in clarifying, articulating, and attaining academic and life goals;
  • The student is expected to meet with his/her academic advisor regularly to plan an academic program and review achievement.
  • Facilitating each student’s academic adjustment to the campus;
  • Educating students to assess academic progress and develop appropriate educational plans;
  • Explaining and clarifying graduation requirements and academic rules and regulations;
  • Serving as advocates and mediators for students; and
  • Refer students to appropriate departments or programs to meet student needs.
 
 
Schedule Academic Counseling

Mondays – Fridays, 8:00 AM – 3:00 PM
(Closed on GovGuam Holidays and Summer & Spring Break)

 


 

Who is my Academic Advisor?

Login to MyGCC. Go to My Courses (Tab) >  Academic Profile >  Select A Term

Your advisor's name should appear at the bottom. 

For assistance, contact GCC Admissions at gcc.registrar@guamcc.edu


 

Academic Advisors
 
Degree / Certificate / Industry Certification / Apprenticeship  Academic Advisor Contact Email
Apprenticeship  Melvin Cruz
 
(671)735‐5640
Ext. 5571
melvin.cruz1@guamcc.edu
Accounting Pilar Pangelinan (671)735‐0110
Ext. 0410
pilar.pangelinan@guamcc.edu
Adult High School Patricia Terlaje (671)735‐5563
Ext. 5593
patricia.terlaje@guamcc.edu
Automotive Service Technology Associate Dean Pete Roberto (671)735‐5589
Ext. 5606
joachim.roberto@guamcc.edu
Civil Engineering Technology Gil Yanger (671)735‐0114
Ext. 5601
gil.yanger@guamcc.edu
Computer-Aided Design & Drafting Gil Yanger (671)735‐0114
Ext. 5601
gil.yanger@guamcc.edu
Computer Networking Ricky Tyquiengco  (671)735-0114 
Ext.5618
ricky.tyquiengco1@guamcc.edu
  Terry Kuper (671)735‐0112
Ext. 3034
terry.kuper@guamcc.edu
Computer Science Zhaopei Teng (671)735-0114 
Ext.5618

zhaopei.teng@guamcc.edu
Construction Technology Gil Yanger (671)735‐0114
Ext. 5601
gil.yanger@guamcc.edu
Cosmetology Janice Aguon (671)735‐0110
Ext. 0266
janice.baker@guamcc.edu
  Dr. Deborah Ellen (DC) (671)735‐0110
Ext. 0266
deborah.ellen@guamcc.edu
Criminal Justice Donna Cruz
Jonah Concepcion
Jose Munoz (DC)
(671)735‐0110
Ext. 5581
(671)735‐0113
Ext. 5581
(671)735‐0114
Ext. 5581
donna.cruz@guamcc.edu
jonah.concepcion@guamcc.edu
jose.munoz@guamcc.edu
Culinary Arts Kennylyn Miranda (DC) Contact via email kennylyn.miranda@guamcc.edu
  Paul Kerner Contact via email paul.kerner@guamcc.edu
  Bertrand Haurillon Contact via email bertrand.haurillon@guamcc.edu
Early Childhood Education/
Education/
Career and Technical Education
Dr. Deborah Ellen (DC) (671)735‐0110
Ext. 0266
deborah.ellen@guamcc.edu
  Dr. Marsha Postrozny  (671)735‐0110
Ext. 0266

marsha.postrozny@guamcc.edu
  Marivic (Vicky) Schrage (671)735‐0110
Ext. 0266
marivic.schrage@guamcc.edu
Environemental Technician Anthony Jay Sunga
John Jocson
(671)735‐0113
Ext. 5614
anthonyjay.sunga@guamcc.edu 
johnmichael.jocson@guamcc.edu 
Fire Science Technology Jose Munoz (DC) 671)735‐0114
Ext. 5581
jose.munoz@guamcc.edu


Foodservice Management
Kennylyn Miranda (DC) (671)735‐0110
Ext. 5581
kennylyn.miranda@guamcc.edu
International Hotel Management Carol Cruz (DC) (671)735‐0111
Ext. 0208
carol.cruz@guamcc.edu
Human Services/Family Services Arwen Franquez
Jose Munoz (DC)
(671) 735‐0113
Ext. 5581
(671)735‐0114
Ext. 5581
arwen.franquez@guamcc.edu
jose.munoz@guamcc.edu
Liberal Studies Simone Bollinger (DC) (671)735‐0111
Ext. 0268
simone.bollinger@guamcc.edu
  Juanita Tenorio (671)735‐0112
Ext. 5402
juanita.tenorio@guamcc.edu
 
Tressa Cundiff
(671)735‐0111
Ext. 0268
tressa.cundiff@guamcc.edu
Marketing Yvonne Tam (DC) (671)735-0117
Ext. 0471
yvonne.tam@guamcc.edu
Medical Assisting
Barbara Mafnas
(671)735‐0113
Ext. 5632
barbara.mafnas@guamcc.edu
  Katsuyoshi Uchima (671)735‐0113
Ext. 5592
katsuyoshi.uchima@guamcc.edu
Medium/Heavy Truck Diesel Technology Associate Dean Pete Roberto (671)735‐5589
Ext. 5606
joachim.roberto@guamcc.edu
Office Technology Tonirose Concepcion (671)735‐0112
Ext. 3022
tonirose.concepcion@guamcc.edu
Practical Nursing Dorothy Duenas (Administrator) (671)735‐0113
Ext. 7009
dorothylou.duenas@guamcc.edu
Pre-Architectural Drafting Gil Yanger (671)735‐0114
Ext. 5601
gil.yanger@guamcc.edu
Sign Language Interpreting Kirsten Rosario (671)735‐0110
Ext. 0266
kirsten.rosario@guamcc.edu
Supervision & Management Frederick Tupaz (671)735‐0111
Ext. 0116
frederick.tupaz@guamcc.edu
Surveying Technology Gil Yanger (671)735‐0114
Ext. 5601
gil.yanger@guamcc.edu
Tourism & Travel Management Carol Cruz (DC) (671)735‐0111
Ext. 0208
carol.cruz@guamcc.edu
Visual Communications Yvonne Tam (DC) (671)735‐0117
Ext. 0471
yvonne.tam@guamcc.edu
  Nita Jeannette Cepeda (671)735‐0112
3025
nitajeannette.cepeda@guamcc.edu
  Paul Healy (671)735‐0112
Ext. 3021
paul.healy@guamcc.edu
Undeclared Students Wilson Tam (671)735‐0111
Ext. 6015
wilson.tam@guamcc.edu
  Jonita Kerr (671)735‐0113
Ext. 5614
jonita.kerr@guamcc.edu
  Kathryn Maloney (671)735‐0111
Ext. 0118
kathryn.maloney@guamcc.edu
  Ronaldo Paulino (671)735‐0113
Ext. 5614
ronaldo.paulino@guamcc.edu
  Wendell Roden (671)735‐0111
Ext. 3329
wendell.roden@guamcc.edu
  Theresa Datuin (671)735‐0111
Ext. 0118
theresaann.datuin@guamcc.edu
  Trisha Blas (671)735‐0111
Ext. 0118
trisha.blas@guamcc.edu
 
 
Department Chairperson for Academic Programs
 
Program Chairperson Contact
Automotive Service Technology
Medium Heavy Truck Diesel Technology
Pete Roberto
Associate Dean, TPS

(671)735‐5589
Ext.5606
ast.info@guamcc.edu
joachim.roberto@guamcc.edu

 
Adult Education Yolonda T. Topasna
(671)735‐6010
Ext. 5415
gccadulteducation@guamcc.edu
Allied Health Dorothy Manglona Duenas
(671)735‐0113
Ext. 7009
alliedhealth.info@guamcc.edu
Computer Science
Computer Networking
Office Technology
Ricky Tyquiengco 
 

(671)735-0114 
Ext.5618
ricky.tyquiengco1@guamcc.edu
Construction Trades Gil Yanger
(671)735-0114
Ext. 5601
construction.info@guamcc.edu
Criminal Justice
Human Services
Social Sciences
Jose Munoz
(671)735-0114
Ext. 5581
jose.munoz@guamcc.edu
Culinary Arts
Food Service Management
Kennylyn Miranda
culinary.info@guamcc.edu
Education
Early Childhood Education
Sign Language Interpreting
Cosmetology
Dr. Deborah Ellen
(671)735‐0110
Ext. 0266
education.info@guamcc.edu
English
Liberal Studies
Simone Bollinger
(671)735‐0111
Ext. 0268
liberalstudies.info@guamcc.edu
Business
Visual Communications
Yvonne Tam
(671)735‐0117
Ext. 0471
marketing.info@guamcc.edu
viscom.info@guamcc.edu
Math
Science
Carl Torres II
(671)735‐0113
Ext. 5614
carl.torresii@guamcc.edu 
Tourism & Hospitality Carol Cruz
(671)735‐0111
Ext. 0208
hospitality.info@guamcc.edu